Tyson V. Rininger's Blog

TVRPhotography – If it moves, Shoot It!

Think Different

I don’t often share my Apple Store experiences with anyone outside Apple even though I regularly have some pretty amazing interactions with customers. Quite frankly, with Apple’s intense secrecy I’m not sure I’m allowed to, but it would be a shame not tell this story.

Although this may seem like another Apple Feel-good saga, and in a way it is, if you’re reading this blog for photography related material, you’re still in the right place. Hang in there, it will all come together.

Wandering through a sea of aluminum computers and solid wood tables, an elderly couple attempted to interact with these relatively alien devices. The husband appeared a little more lost than his wife, but that was only because she was the one who had an interest in a new computer. He couldn’t care less.

She and I talked for a bit while her frail husband continued to meander around the store. Another staff member brought out the desktop computer she wanted along with all of her fun accessories. We unpacked the computer together and with the help of another Apple associate, began the process of setting up the basics and making the computer her own.

Her husband sat down at the same table but at a distance and alone, still appearing lost as he curiously watched other people in the store. I moved a bit closer to him and began a completely unrelated conversation so as to occupy a bit of his time and not make him feel ignored. We got onto the topic of how computer savvy younger kids are today and how quickly they pick up on technology. He asked if working at Apple was all I did. I told him my primary job was that of a photographer and I mainly photograph airplanes. He laughed a little.

“I don’t understand,” he said. “A plane is a plane, a car is a car and a cow is a cow. How can you make a living taking photos of these ordinary things?” To relay my best customer service, I agreed and told him that’s a very good question. “If the photos I create look just like the objects I photograph, I would no doubt have a very difficult time making a living,” I told him. “The challenge is to make every aircraft look unique but familiar and bring out the strongest feature of that plane.”

I could tell he was a very objective man and doubtful that a simple photograph could make an ordinary object look extraordinary.

On the table was a 15” MacBook Pro laptop. I navigated the web browser to my gallery of Reminisce black and white photographs and proceeded to show him some of my photography. What happened next was nothing short heartwarming.

The fragile older gentleman’s eyes began to water as he watched image after image flash before him. I asked if he was ok. He glanced over at his wife, then back to the screen followed by a simple nod. After a few more seconds and without provocation, he started to tell me a very powerful story. “I was at Normandy and remember seeing these planes. They didn’t look like this,” he said. “I have few words to describe what I saw and what I experienced. Come to think of it, it’s been nearly 30 years since I’ve even talked about Normandy.” Another lengthy pause followed as he watched the slideshow intently. “These are beautiful,” he said. “You’re right, a photograph of an airplane can look a lot different than just an airplane.”

I was speechless. Not only did I suddenly have a better understanding of his objectivity, to him at the time these aircraft were simply tools of war, but I had so many questions and was poised to listen intently to his stories if only he were willing to share them. At that moment however, I could sense the sight of these aircraft seemed a bit overwhelming. The fact that he was willing to open up to me and share a piece of his past that he hadn’t shared with anyone in three decades almost brought a tear to my eye.

He continued to surprise me as he named off the individual aircraft. “I jumped from quite a few of those C-47’s,” he recalled. “I also remember seeing those white stripes on the wings for the first time [referring to the D-Day invasion stripes applied to all allied aircraft]. They painted hundreds of them that way.” He went on to describe the actions of P-38’s and P-51’s in the European Theater. For someone who managed to distance himself for so long from such intense experiences, his memory was flawless.

Soon his wife was all set and her computer was back in the box. He and I both thanked each other for the shared stories and shook hands. I watched as they walked hand in hand toward of the front of the store and then out of sight. What really caught my attention was how his once frail shuffling steps turned into a more confident stride. Moments like these remind me of why I do what I do, both at Apple and as a photographer.

As an artist, it is my job to show an ordinary object in a way it has never been seen before. What I don’t expect are for the resulting photographs to convey an emotion, especially one that effects me just as much as the viewer. While Apple’s privacy policy prevents me from mentioning the gentleman’s name, it is one I’ll never forget. It is an experience I’ll never forget.

To some, winning a contest defines a good photo. To others, selling a print defines a good photo. To me, nothing could define a good photograph more than a single tear.

Be different, think different, make your mark.

6 responses to “Think Different

  1. Mark April 23, 2013 at 11:29 AM

    Tyson, a very moving story. I am continually amazed by the ways in which our work touches people. You just never know….thats what makes it so rewarding!
    Carry on!
    Mark

  2. Tony Granata April 23, 2013 at 11:42 AM

    Very cool Tyson…

  3. Janet April 24, 2013 at 3:52 AM

    Wow…..amazing airplanes, photography, and a heartwarming story all in one place. You’re right, it would have been a real shame not to share it.

  4. Thomas Bunce April 25, 2013 at 9:47 PM

    Thanks for the reminder of why we take photos.

  5. Ron Emery (@RonEappleseed) May 1, 2013 at 6:26 PM

    What a wonderful story, thank you for sharing it. I would love you to share this with the entire team.

  6. Jonathan Schlaepfer April 26, 2014 at 10:21 AM

    Don’t forget to make your mark… your watermark that is.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 366 other followers

